Ireland granted €73 million in active travel cash

Nearly €73 million will be divided between local authorities in Ireland thanks to an active travel investment by the National Transport Authority.

With a large sum of the cash dedicated to connecting rural areas of Ireland, the intention is to develop a large volume of infrastructure projects designed to stimulate active travel. 25 pages worth of projects are listed here and a county by county spend allocation can be found below.

That does mean that the cash is spread thinly in some places, with cash grants ranging small allocations for minor improvements for things like public cycle repair facilities to larger allocations to infrastructure projects, such as bridges linking paths and the series of six figure allocations to Kerry County Council for the development of interconnected cycleway developments.

Sticky Bottle has the Minister for Transport Eamon Ryan, a politician known for his enthusiasm for active travel, as saying: “This marks another significant step forward in providing green sustainable transport options to those outside of the large urban centres.

“Developing high quality walking and cycling facilities will encourage more people to switch to active travel and will contribute to tackling climate change.

“Connecting communities and making walking and cycling attractive, safe and accessible to everyone is what this funding will help to accomplish. The projects being funded today will make a real difference to rural communities across the country and this is only the beginning.”

Where the €72,878,390 is being spent:

  • Carlow County Council €2,426,000
  • Cavan County Council €2,310,000
  • Clare County Council €5,986,000
  • Donegal County Council €5,311,100
  • Galway County Council €6,193,000
  • Kerry County Council €5,644,500
  • Kilkenny County Council €4,333,000
  • Laois County Council €3,283,000
  • Leitrim County Council €2,220,000
  • Longford County Council €2,020,000
  • Louth County Council €4,649,670
  • Mayo County Council €3,349,500
  • Monaghan County Council €3,985,620
  • Offaly County Council €3,439,000
  • Roscommon County Council €2,397,000
  • Sligo County Council €2,595,000
  • Tipperary County Council €4,633,000
  • Wexford County Council €3,603,000
  • Westmeath County Council €4,500,000