Westminster University launches awards for active travel reporting

A new Active Travel Media Award has been launched to celebrate excellence in journalism in the field of active travel, such as walking and cycling.

The award is part of a think tank seeking to research and promote sustainable transport.

With a series of eight awards, the University of Westminster’s Active Travel Academy, launched last month, is looking to recognise the work of the UK’s journalists, reporters and presenters  who are contributing to the public understanding of road safety and active travel. Coverage may range from road danger and safety, to tech and trends, to politics, in the form of written reports, podcasts, radio, television or online broadcasts.

Members of the public are invited to submit work they feel is outstanding in their field, and journalists may also nominate their own or colleagues’ work they consider exemplary. There will be a People’s Choice Award for the best and worst coverage of the last 18 months.

Active travel journalist Laura Laker and Director of the Active Travel Academy Dr Rachel Aldred will co-chair the expert panel of judges. Other panel members include academics Professor Guy Osborn and Dr Pieter Verdegem, Victoria Hazael (Cycling UK) and Tanya Braun (Living Streets).

Dr Aldred said: “We are excited to be launching these Media Awards. Our distinguished panel of active travel experts and academics are looking for the very best work in the field. As well as recognising the excellent work done by many journalists, we want to provide ‘good examples’ of how to report active travel issues as well.”

Award categories

News (written word): written news report, published in print or online

News (broadcast):  news report broadcast on TV, radio or online

Features (written): written feature story published in print or online

Features (broadcast): TV, film, radio podcast entries up to 120 minutes

Local media: print, online or broadcast entries from local media outlets

Investigation: an outstanding piece of investigative journalism, entries can be print, broadcast, online or multimedia and may be a single report or number of items covering the same story

Student journalist: entries must have been published or broadcast (including student journals/websites)

People’s choice awards:

-Worst reporting on TV/radio, print or online

-Best reporting on TV/radio, print or online

The deadlines for submissions is midnight on 3rd November, with the winners announced at the ATA Media Awards in Central London on 25th November. More information on the awards can be found here.


Hayley Everett

Multimedia Reporter

Hayley Everett has 903 posts and counting. See all posts by Hayley Everett