Former Cycling England adviser Sloman makes TfL board

Transport for London has today announced the formation of a slimmed down board, which this time around includes what can be considered a representative for cycling in Lynn Sloman.

Sloman served as a board member for Cycling England prior to the Conservative Government’s cull in the notorious ‘bonfire of the Quangos’. She is also currently the chair of the Campaign for Better Transport.

Encouragingly, the board draws on the experience of a number of people known for their environmental credentials, including Michael Leibrich a long-term campaigner for a shift away from fossil fuels and formerly himself a rumoured ‘Green Right’ candidate for Mayor of London.

Sadiq Khan said of the appointments: “I promised to reshape TfL’s Board and make it reflect London’s diversity, and that’s exactly what I’ve done. I’m delighted to be able to announce a Board that brings together a huge range of talent, experiences and backgrounds, while being more efficient. There are still not enough women in senior positions across London, and I’m proud that we have brought gender parity to the TfL board and increased BAME and disability representation. Together we will ensure that TfL delivers the world-class transport system that Londoners deserve.”

The TfL Board is responsible for approving TfL’s budget, business plan, annual report and other major and strategic issues and policies.

Other board member include:

Nina Skorupska CBE

Nina is Chief Executive of Renewable Energy Association and on the board of Women in Science and Engineering Campaign. She was the first female power station manager for RWE npower in the UK before going to on the be Director of Performance Improvement. She has also been responsible for delivery of Essent’s new clean energy developments.

Greg Clark CBE

Greg is a former member of the London LEP Board, Chairman of the London Stansted Cambridge Consortium, member of the UK Ministerial Smart Cities Forum, member of the Crossrail 2 Growth Commission and the West Anglia Task Force.

Ron Kalifa

Ron is Vice Chairman of WorldPay Group plc. He was CEO of WorldPay and Marketing E-commerce Director at Natwest.

Dr Alice Maynard CBE

Alice is an experienced member of public sector advisory groups and not for profit boards. She is the current  Chair of the Independent Disability Advisory group for TfL.

Anne McMeel

Anne worked in the GLA as the Executive Director of Finance and Performance from 2001 to 2007 and Director of Resources in MPS from 2007 to 2012. She is currently on Arts Council England’s performance and Audit Committee.

Dr Mee Ling Ng OBE

Mee Ling is a board member of a Housing Association providing accessible housing to people with disabilities, and a board member of South Bank University.  From 2002 – 2010 she was Chair of Southwark PCT NHS board.  She has also been a non-executive director of Lewisham and Guy’s Mental Health Trust and South London and Maudsley Mental Health Trust. She was a councillor in Lewisham from 1986 to 2002.

Nelson Ogunshakin OBE

Nelson is currently the CEO, President and Company Secretary of Association for Consultancy and Engineering (ACE). He co-chaired the National Infrastructure Plan Strategic Engagement Forum (NIPEF) and was appointed by the GLA as a member of the London Infrastructure Delivery Board. He is also chair of a Private Equity Investment Board.


Ben Story

Ben has previously been the Managing Director of CitiBank. He has over 25 years’ experience in financial advice and funding in the transport and industrial sectors. He was also involved in the corporatisation of TfL.

Kay Carberry CBE

Kay has been Assistant General Secretary of the Trades Union Congress from 2003 to 2016. She has also been a member of the Women and Work Commission and a Commissioner of the Equal Opportunities Commission, and the Equality and Human Rights Commission.